About Grassroots Tennis

Wendy:
I graduated from UCT with a bachelors degree in psychology and personnel management. Went on to work for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission assisting the judges with all amnesty applications. Then went on to organize conferences and events for a large church in Cape Town which I did until my second child was born. I have been very fortunate to be able to stay at home and raise my kids.

I’m a mother of 3 kids and in my mid 40’s and have a passion for people. And tennis. And dogs. And reading.

I also am a league and social tennis player at Constantia Tennis Club as well as the chairlady for the lady’s morning league.

I am actively involved in my church as a deacon and lead a group of about 50 women in the community in bible study. I have a heart for the disadvantaged and believe that I’ve been given much so that I can give much.
Been happily married for 22 years and my husband is my greatest support.

Carlos:
I am a sales rep for a high end audio-visual wholesaler and distributor. I have been involved in the audio business for nearly 20 years. I am 45years old and love the game of tennis. I am fortunate to be the chairman of the Constantia Tennis Club. I have an eagerness to help those less fortunate and now that Wendy and I have this vision of Grass Roots Tennis I am focused and excited to make the difference I know we can to these kids. As one of our individual sponsors said and I quote “a kid on the court is a kid out of court” a truer saying couldn’t be found.

I am married now for 14 years and have no kids unless my Bordeaux Mastiff and Persian cat count.

I have been training intensely for this challenge through gyming and jogging, I am in the best shape at 45 than I have been in the past 20 years.

Comments are closed